Monomoy, Nauset Well Represented Among League All-Star Selections

By: Brad Joyal

Topics: Monomoy Regional High School , Sports , Nauset Regional High School

Monomoy’s Troy Olson fires a shot against Cape Cod Tech. Olson was among the members of the Monomoy boys soccer team to earn Lighthouse Division All-Star recognition. BRAD JOYAL PHOTO

The Cape and Islands League recently released its All-Star selections for non-football fall sports, and Monomoy and Nauset student-athletes were well represented among those honored.

Nauset had 20 fall athletes receive All-Star honors while Monomoy had 16. Nauset’s picks included a Most Valuable Player, and both teams had players receive co-MVP honors in addition to taking home honorable mention and sportsmanship awards.

Both Monomoy and Nauset saw most of their All-Star selections come in soccer; Monomoy had a combined seven players between its boys and girls teams named on the Lighthouse Division’s All-Star teams, while Nauset had a combined 10.

Caroline Kennard, Olivia Avellar, Brady Deschamps, Emma Easley and Sam Schiffenhaus all represented Nauset’s girls team as Atlantic Division All-Stars. Kennard shared co-MVP honors with Nantucket’s Macy Crowell, and her sister, Kate Kennard, was an honorable mention selection. Josi Boskus also represented the Warriors’ girls as a sportsmanship award recipient.

Nauset’s boys soccer team also had five Atlantic Division All-Stars — Nate Watring, Pat Pinto, Will Schiffer, James Rose and Caelan Donovan — and two honorable mention selections, Arlo Lawless and Samuel Coelho. Schiffer was named the Atlantic Division’s MVP, and DeJorno Davis also represented the Warriors as a boys soccer individual sportsmanship award winner.

Monomoy’s girls soccer team had Lexie Hyora, Audrey Smith, Karah Deveau and Hanna Slater earn Lighthouse Division All-Stars, Kate Gabri received an honorable mention and Sophia Fiorillo took home a sportsmanship award. The Sharks’ boys soccer team was led by three All-Stars — Troy Olson, Ryan Laramee and Colin Moore — as well as honorable mention pick Wes Ulrich and individual sportsmanship recipient Joao Paixao.

In golf, Nauset’s Jack Martin, Cooper Guiliano and Nemo Frawley were all Atlantic Division All-Stars — Martin was the runner-up in the division’s MVP voting behind Sandwich’s Emma Abramson — while Monomoy had Grady Howell and Jackson Rocco took home Lighthouse All-Star honors. The Sharks’ golf squad also was awarded the team sportsmanship award.

Both schools’ cross-country teams were star-studded groups; Gareth Vos and James Machnik were Lighthouse All-Star selections for Monomoy’s boys, and Rhiannon Vos and Courteney Dery both earned the honor for the Sharks’ girls. Jack Yuskaitis represented the boys team as an individual sportsmanship award winner, and Dery did the same for the girls.

Nauset’s cross-country programs had Ben Calsson, Jeremiah Pranga and Will Crowell as Atlantic Division boys All-Stars — Molly Keigans and Sage Lach shared the same distinction for the girls. Boys team member Will Mulholland was an honorable mention selection, and his teammate, Maximilian Dio, was an individual sportsmanship award recipient. Nauset’s Kaitlyn Farrell also received an individual sportsmanship award for the girls.

Caroline DiGiovanni, Caroline Upson and Carly Dimock were Monomoy’s Atlantic Division field hockey All-Stars, with DiGiovanni sharing Co-MVP honors with Barnstable’s Reagan Hicks, while her younger sister, Helen DiGiovanni, represented the Sharks as an honorable mention pick. Nauset’s Zoe Bates and Lauren Knight also were Atlantic field hockey All-Star submissions. Julia Weiner received honorable mention, and the Warriors were given the team sportsmanship award.

In volleyball, Nauset’s Olivia Horton was an Atlantic Division honorable mention selection, while teammates Rebecca Cahill, Pearl Sears and Charlotte Furman were individual sportsmanship award recipients.

Email Brad Joyal at Twitter: @BradJoyal