School Committee Incumbents Win Re-election

By: Tim Wood

Paula Tobin and Louise Russell check in mail-in ballots at Thursday's annual election at the Chatham Community Center. TIM WOOD PHOTO

CHATHAM – The two incumbent Monomoy Regional School Committee members beat back challenges to win new terms in Thursday's annual town election.

Nancy Scott and Jacqueline Zibrat-Long were re-elected to new three-year terms, outdistancing Robert Hessler and Elizabeth Taylor. Scott was the top vote getter in the race with 366, one vote more than Zibrat-Long. Hessler received 201 votes and Taylor 174.

A total of 581 voters, 10 percent of the town's 5,798 registered, cast ballots at the community center. More than 200 votes were cast by mail, according to Town Clerk Julie Smith. Hours of the election, which was postponed from May, were cut back due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Fewer voter stations than usual were set up to maintain social distancing, and poll workers wore face shields and took other precautions.

Shareen Davis, running unopposed, won another three-year term on the board of selectmen. Janice O'Connell also faced no challenge for a five-year term on the housing authority.

Improvements to the town's transfer station to meet workplace and federally-mandated safety requirements passed 451-140. The approval allows the town to borrow the projected $470,000 cost outside of Proposition 2½. The upgrades are interim improvements and won't alter the layout of the facility; more comprehensive improvements were shelved in deference to COVID-19-related budget reductions.

Voters also approved an advisory question calling for Gov. Charlie Baker and the state legislature to “employ all means available” to ensure the safe closure of the Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station. The question passed 478-76.