Metters, Nicastro And Cocolis Capture Chatham Selectmen Seats

By: Tim Wood

Topics: Board of Selectmen News , Politics , Elections

Candidates wave to passersby outside of the community center Thursday. TIM WOOD PHOTO

CHATHAM – Two familiar faces and one newcomer were elected to the board of selectmen Tuesday.

Incumbents Dean Nicastro and Cory Metters each won their second three-year term on the board, while planning board chairman Peter Cocolis captured a one-year seat left vacant by the resignation of Amanda Love.

Metters topped the voting for the two three-year terms with 1,251, followed by Nicastro with 1,006, and former Selectman Seth Taylor with 436. There were 468 blanks cast in the three-way race.

Cocolis topped challenger Jamie Bassett 967 to 577, with 39 blanks.

The only other race on the ballot, for a five-year housing authority term, was won by incumbent Priscilla Ford. She had 766 votes to Kayta Koehler-Rice's 440.

The rainy day saw 1,583 voters, or 28 percent of the 5,637 registered, turn out for the election. There were only two contested races on ballot and no questions.

"This means a lot to me," said Metters after the results were announced.  The vote "gives me a little more drive to keep doing what I've been doing," he said, adding that this will be a "productive year."

"Our to-do list is very long," he said.

Nicastro said he looks forward to working with Metters, Cocolis and the rest of the board, and he thanked Bassett and Taylor for putting their candidacy before voters.

Finding a site for a new senior center will be a major topic in the coming weeks, he said.  "We have a lot of infrastructure issues. I feel that's probably the most pressing," he said, adding that he intends to work to keep the town "historic, friendly and well-equipped for our citizens."

Cocolis, a retired air force officer, said while he ran on his accomplishments on the planning board and as the town's representative on the Cape Light Compact, "I also ran on representing everybody, whether they voted for me or not."

Winning re-election with no opposition were Moderator William Litchfield, housing authority member Janice O'Connell, and Monomoy Regional School Committee member Jo-anne Sheehan.  Joseph Auciello also won a one-year term on the school committee.

On Friday morning the board named Nicastro its new chairman. Metters was chosen as vice chairman and Cocolis will serve as the board's clerk. The new board will hold its first full meeting Monday at 6 p.m. at the annex.